The Coffee Chronicles | Day 2

I gave up coffee for Lent. Those who know me understand the tremendous undertaking that I have gotten myself into. I will be tracking my progress throughout Lent. Let this be a lesson to all…

Dear Diary,

It’s day two of Lent, and I find myself feeble and weak-minded. Last night, I actually sat in the drive-through line to get one–just one–cup of medium roast Starbucks coffee. When the car ahead of me finally pulled up, I turned the wheel to the right and pulled away. I barely escaped what could have been a horrible relapse.

The caffeine withdrawal is agonizing and harrowing. I had gotten in the habit of drinking a pot of coffee in the morning, two to three cups at work, a cup after classes, and two or three more cups while doing homework in the evening. Essentially, I was jonesin’ for coffee at all hours of the day. I dream of a happier, caffeinated self.

If I can’t give up coffee for Lent successfully, I’ll be phoning Dr. Drew. No doubt. Wish me luck, my dear diary.

Kisses, sunshine, and unicorns,

Jen

1 Comment

Filed under Blog, Blogger, Health, Oddities, Personal

One response to “The Coffee Chronicles | Day 2

  1. constantly87

    Thanks to your cat-like reflexes you managed to pull away just in time. I’m glad you’re okay and I wish you luck on your quest to free yourself from coffee addiction.

Leave a Reply

