Meghan McCain on Ann Coulter

On the “Blogs and Stories” section of the Daily Beast, Meghan McCain dishes on being a middle (wo)man in a politically polar world. From being called a RINO (“Republican in name only”), to having Ann Coulter being the egregious side of the Republican image, McCain explains how the younger generation is being lost in translation.

Meghan McCain

I am sure most extreme conservatives and extreme liberals would find me a confusing, walking contradiction. But I assure you, there are many people out there just like me who represent a new, younger generation of Republicans. It took me almost two years of campaigning across this country and hanging out, on a daily basis, with some of the most famous and most intelligent Republicans to fall in love with the Republican Party. If it took that much time and exposure for me to join the party, how can GOP leaders possibly expect to reach young supporters by staying the course they have been on these past eight years? Where has our extreme thinking gotten us?

In regards to right-wing extremist, Ann Coulter, McCain explains that both her politics and mien.

I straight up don’t understand this woman or her popularity. I find her offensive, radical, insulting, and confusing all at the same time. But no matter how much you or I disagree with her, the cult that follows Coulter cannot be denied. She is a New York Times best-selling author and one of the most notable female members of the Republican Party.

More so than my ideological differences with Ann Coulter, I don’t like her demeanor. I have never been a person who was attracted to hate or negativity. I don’t believe in scare tactics and would never condone or encourage anyone calling President Obama a Muslim. But controversy sells and Coulter is nothing if not controversial. Everything about her is extreme: her voice, her interview tactics, and especially the public statements she makes about liberals. Maybe her popularity stems from the fact that watching her is sometimes like watching a train wreck.

Can I get an amen?

I am a big fan of this article because I reflect similar sentiments as the 2008 Republican presidential candidate’s daughter. Being a proponent of conservative libertarianism , I can relate to feeling of exclusion from either party. I grew up in a conservative environment, but I have some views that are not “deemed appropriate” by the GOP. However, I’m without a doubt more conservative (I do not relate with the Democratic party in terms of fiscal, economic, or military issues in any way).

I can appreciate McCain’s views and even agree with a majority of them. I think it’s honorable and respectable that this young woman has solid beliefs of her own that she refuses to sugarcoat just because the two dominating parties don’t “approve.” Which begs the question: who’s representing us moderates and third-party people?

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Blogger, Celebrity, Education, Journalism, Personal, Rhetoric, World Wide Web, Writing

Leave a Reply

